Ayurvedic Principles

8 Pahar

Pahar is a division of the day, commonly used in ayurveda. Generally, each Pahar is for 3 hours. But depending on the length of day and night, Pahar time can change. So, if days are short like in winters, Day Pahar can be of short duration and night Pahar can be of a long duration.

Day Pahar

Day Pahar starts with sunrise and ends with complete sunset.

Purvanha (पूर्वान्ह)6:00 am to 9:00 am
Madhyanha (मध्यान्ह)9:00 am to 12:00 pm
Aparanha (अपरान्ह)12:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Sayanha (सयान्ह)or Sayamkala (सायंकाल)3:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Night Pahar

Night Pahar starts after the complete sunset. The night consists of three Pahar.

Pradosha (प्रदोष)6:00 pm to 9:00 pm
Nishitha (निशिथ)9:00 pm to 12:00 am
Triyama (त्रियामा)12:00 am to 3:00 pm

Dawn Pahar

The remaining Pahar belongs to dawn and is called Usha (उषा). It starts with the end of Triyama and ends with the sunrise.

Usha (उषा)3:00 am to 6:00 am


  1. According to the principle of sunrise and sunset, starting and ending time for each Pahar can vary in every season and according to place or country.
  2. The time shown in the above tables is a general illustration. We take this illustration when we decide on a schedule for an ayurvedic diet and healing diet.

Subscribe to Ayur Times

Get notification for new articles in your inbox

Dr. Jagdev Singh

Dr. Jagdev Singh (B.A.M.S., M. Sc. in Medicinal Plants) is an Ayurvedic Practitioner and Herbalist. He has successfully treated thousands of patients with Ayurveda (including Herbal Ayurvedic Medicine and Ayurvedic Diet). Ayur Times is an initiative of his efforts to bring quality information on Indian Medicine with the highest level of relevancy and scientific evidence.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button